Sommières temple

The Temple de Sommières, formerly the church of the Cordeliers convent founded in 1223, has stood the test of time. After being destroyed in 1562 and rebuilt in 1710 by Raymond Pavée, it became a Protestant place of worship in 1807. Its facade, adorned with a book, and its light-filled interior feature a waxed wooden pulpit and a 19th-century organ. Listed as a Historic Monument, it is renowned for its acoustics, hosting concerts and guided tours during the Heritage Days.

Restoration work is currently required to preserve the site. To finance this project, the commune is working with partners such as the Fondation du Patrimoine and the Association de Sauvegarde du Temple de Sommières (ASTS). Once the work has been completed, the temple will return to its original purpose, the celebration of services by the United Protestant Church of France and its cultural use for concerts.

Sommières temple Rue Emilien Dumas
30250 Sommières

Means of communication

Open

Closed temporarily.

Equipement

  • Parking nearby

Rates

Free access.

Environment

  • 30 - 40 min from a train station by bike
  • 30 - 40 min from an SNCF station by electric bike
  • 10 - 20 min from a train station by car
  • Less than 10 minutes from a bus stop on foot
  • Village centre